Yum: Homemade Girl Scout Cookies

NOOOOOOOOOO!

Blog - Panade 005

The last Girl Scout cookie and the selling season is over! What’s a girl to do? Well, this slightly crazy one spent a few hours trying to recreate my favorite Samoas (or Caramel DeLites or whatever they’re called now).

019

Luckily there are plenty of recipes out there and I followed this one, which calls for a simple shortbread base and melted store-bought soft caramels. And because I was feeling lazy (relatively speaking), I took a few shortcuts like rolling the shortbread dough into a log and cutting discs instead of using cookie cutters. I figured solid circles instead of rings just gives you more of the good stuff in each cookie right? I also melted the caramels and chocolate using a microwave (carefully) instead of a double boiler. Have I mentioned I was feeling lazy?

Blog - Panade 009Blog - Girl Scout Cookies 003

Would I do it again? No way, it took too long and was kind of a pain in the butt. But was it worth doing one time? Absolutely – and you can brag to your friends or bribe them ’cause who could turn this down?

011

Blog - Girl Scout Cookies 019

I’ve also decided I don’t like things that require dipping in chocolate – I can never get it runny enough and it always ends up thick and goopy. Too bad, otherwise these homemade Thin Mints would be next.

 

Leave a Reply

