Not Your Grandma’s Knits: Sandra Backlund

Now don’t get me wrong, my grandma taught me how to knit when I was nine and she was awesome. I just wanted to use this series to explore modern knits with a little more edge, to challenge the notion that all hand-knit things look like this:

Knitted nightgown 1936

And, holy cow, I’m starting off with a doozy: Swedish fashion designer Sandra Backlund who uses knits in the most astonishing and sculptural ways. Wearable for the average human being? Maybe not. But breathtakingly inspiring? Hell yes.

KnitsCollage

Leave a Reply

