A little DIY: Nightstand refresh

Before and After powers activate!Nightstand before and after PicMonkey Collage

More details on this easy refresh after the jump

I found this cutie on Craigslist for $10 – solid wood and in good shape, but definitely in need of some lovin’.

Furniture Refinishing 005

Isn’t it amazing what a little paint can do? Especially lazy paint, my favorite kind. Annie Sloan Chalk Paint is the best because you can slap it on over just about anything. All I did was wipe down the nightstand with a damp rag. No removing old paint, no sanding, no priming. See?

Furniture Refinishing 010

Just one coat covers so well with no preparation. And it’s water-based so it doesn’t stink up the room. I painted in the comfort of my living room with Food Network on in the background.  Annie Sloan Chalk Paint is a little difficult to find (I had to order from an online stockist) and it’s pricey, but it’s worth it since you don’t have to buy primer and a little goes a long way.

To finish, I spray-painted the existing knob silver and used mod-podge to glue some pretty paper onto the bottom shelf.

Nightstand makeover 019 Nightstand makeover 017

I just noticed how well that plant picks up the fronds in my bedspread, which in turn, matches the nightstand and lamp. I don’t live in a magazine, I swear! It’s usually much more messy up in here.

Nightstand makeover 015

Leave a Reply

