DIY Inspiration: Embellished Military Jacket

I’ve been searching for a dark green military-style jacket for months but could never find one that was the right color and length for my shorty self. So I was psyched when I spotted this one at a thrift store for $10!! Trust me, I clutched this baby tight all the way to the register out of an irrational fear that someone would snatch it out of my hands.

006

It’s got really cute details but I thought it could use a little something to break up all the green and give it a little personality.  So I jumped on the internet for inspiration and came across some interesting options.

~I could sew on jewels like this one via Lovelyish:

 

~Or do something with fabric paint like this tongue-in-cheek take from The Casual Free Style:

 

~Or add pins for a no-sew option a la Silver:

 

~Or sprinkle on some studs like this one via toriasays:

In the end, I decided to take a more subtle route so my jacket will weather the ever-shifting storm of trends and look good season after season. I’m still working on it but really like where it’s heading! And I’m using a slightly unconventional material. Check back next week to see how it turns out =)

One thought on “DIY Inspiration: Embellished Military Jacket

  1. Pingback: A little DIY: Rope Embellished Military Jacket | FuzzyCloudDesigns Blog

Leave a Reply

