A little DIY: Rope Embellished Military Jacket

086a

Last week I shared a super-duper-awesome thrift store find – a lightweight, cropped military jacket in the perfect olive green for only $10! Of course I wanted to jazz it up and considered adding jewels or studs or other such bling. But, in the end, I decided to go with some more subtle embellishment that wouldn’t  go out of style.

 

See what I did after the jump!

military jacket PicMonkey Collage

I used thin paracord rope that I got at the hardware store! Most hardware stores have this in tons of colors and patterns at only 20 cents per foot!!  I can’t wait to use it to make some jewelry but another day, another post =)001

If you can handle basic stitching, you can do this DIY!

Step 1 – Decide where I wanted to place my rope and cut it to size.

Step 2 – Keep the cut rope ends from fraying. Some of my rope stayed pretty intact when cut and only needed a dab of Fray Check to keep it from unravelling. But, with other kinds of rope, you may need to melt the cut ends with a lighter.

Step 3 – Stitch the rope onto the jacket using matching thread.

027

031

Military jacket 2 PicMonkey Collage

TADA! I’ve been wearing this jacket just about non-stop since it goes with everything.

See? I tried to pose for photos on a walk outside and bless my boyfriend’s heart for trying but I’m terrible at it. This is why I’ll never be a fashion blogger =)

iPhone 009

 

Leave a Reply

