Yum: Chocolate-Raspberry Crepe Cake with Whipped Cream

Blog - Crepe Cake 063b

One day I had way too much leftover whipped cream (you know, it happens sometimes..). See my spoon drowning in the excess? My roommate suggested I just throw it away to which I gasped audibly and dramatically. WASTE this heavenly, pillowy goodness?

Blog - Icebox Cake 049

Instead, I decided to make a crepe cake – I had been wanting to try one and this was the perfect opportunity. See how I punched up the flavor after the jump!

Blog - Crepe Cake 002

I knew I wanted rich chocolate-y flavor and a fruit filling to add a fresh tartness. Naturally, I wanted to use what I had on hand. Which happened to be Trader Joe’s hot chocolate powder and raspberry preserves. Of course, if you’re legit and have real unsweetened, high-quality cocoa powder on hand, your crepe cake will be slightly better than mine. But I’m perfectly happy with my lazy version =)

Blog - Crepe Cake 057

I used raspberry preserves on every third layer, so I had twice as many whipped cream layers to balance out the tangy berry flavor.

Oh and here’s a helpful and probably unnecessary hint – don’t water down your raspberry preserves so that it will spread easier. ‘Cause I did that and then the extra water just seeped down and pooled at the bottom of the cake and made things all soggy. Lesson learned.

Blog - Crepe Cake 046

One other thing, since we’re being honest: turns out crepe cake isn’t my favorite dessert ever. I prefer a good fruit pie or fudgy brownie. And it’s a lot of work. But I brought it to a party and everyone was super impressed and it was gobbled up immediately. So I figured I’d share… you know, just in case you have a ton of whipped cream and a few hours on your hands =)

Blog - Crepe Cake 070

Chocolate-Raspberry Crepe Cake with Whipped Cream:

For the Crepes:

2 cups milk

3/4 cup water

4 eggs

6 tablespoons butter, melted

3 tbsp sugar and 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (or 1/2 cup hot chocolate powder if that’s all you have on hand)

2 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp salt

2 cups flour

1 tsp butter or oil, to grease the skillet for the crepes

For the Filling:

2 cups heavy whipping cream

1/4 cup powdered sugar

1 cup raspberry (or whatever flavor you like!) preserves

Make the Crepes:

Mix the crepe ingredients in a blender until just smooth, making sure to scrape down the sides of the blender to incorporate all the dry ingredients. Do not overmix. Chill the crepe batter for at least an hour so the glutens have a chance to relax and the air bubbles dissipate.

Put a little oil or butter in a nonstick skillet over medium high heat. Raise the skillet off the heat, ladle in some of the crepe batter, then quickly swirl the skillet around so the crepe batter distributes evenly. (It should take about a 3 tbsp of crepe batter for a 9-inch skillet.)

After about a minute of cooking, carefully lift the edge of the crepe and use your fingers to carefully flip the crepe over. Cook another 30 seconds on the second side.

Repeat until all the batter is gone, stacking crepes on a dinner plate as they cook.

Assemble the Cake:

Whip the heavy cream and powdered sugar until soft peaks form.

Place one crepe on the bottom of a cake stand or flat plate, then spread about 1/4 cup of the whipped cream over the top. Repeat with one more crepe and whipped cream. For the third crepe, spread a couple tablespoons of the raspberry preserves over the top. Continue layering two crepes with whipped cream and one with raspberry preserves until all the crepes have been used up.

For the top, spread with a generous layer of whipped cream and decorate with chocolate shavings, chocolate chips or whatever else you have to make it pretty! If you have any whipped cream remaining, save it to serve alongside slices of the cake.

Blog - Crepe Cake 092

 

Leave a Reply

